Saturday, July 31, 2010

NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League Eastern Conference Finals, Final Results from Bristol Dragway, Bristol, Tenn.


BRISTOL, Tenn. (July 31, 2010) – Maple Grove Raceway took home the Team Championship with the help of Heather Boyko who also grabbed the win the in the 13 year old age group and Brittany Boltz who went to the final in her class for the NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League Eastern Conference Finals presented by at Bristol Dragway.

The team racked up 32 points to edge out Mason-Dixon Dragway and National Trail Raceway who finished in second and third with 29 and 27 points respectively. This is Maple Grove’s fourth Team Championship, the most of any team in the competitions history.

Boyko, North Hampton, Pa., picked up her second trophy of the day when she held off Alex Nay, Newcomerstown, Ohio, and National Trail Raceway with an 8.018 second pass. Boltz, Lancaster, Pa., advanced to the final in the 15-year-old class but fell to Dillon Richards of Lake Charles, La., and Emerald Coast Dragway. Dillon, who also won the Closest to the Dial award in his class yesterday, ran a pass of 8.106 seconds for the win.

Joining in on the winner circle fun was Dillan Kyle out of Gay, Ga., and Silver Dollar Raceway who knocked out Nicholas Altenbach, Westerville, Ohio, National Trail Raceway for the 10-year-old win. Kyle was a runner up at last year’s event making this his second final in as many years.

Picking up her second Eastern Conference Finals Championship was York Spring, Pa., racer Erin Warner from Quarter Aces Drag-O-Way. Warner beat out William Marshall, Penndal, Pa., and Atco Raceway for the 16-17-year-old win. Warner won the 14-year-old championship in 2007.

Gage Esneault, Belle Rose, La., running for Huntsville Dragway clocked in at 13.498 seconds for the 8-9-year-old win over Brooklyn LeBlance also of Belle Rose but racing for No Problem Raceway while Daniel Young took the 11-year-old class out of Palm Harbor, Fla., and South Georgia Motorsports Park. Young ran 9.555 in beating Derek Raymond, South Lyon, Mich., Mid-Michigan Motorplex

Rounding out this year’s winners were Sydney Coleman of Elkton, Md., and Cecil County Dragway over Madison Lee, Campbell, S.C. and Atlanta Dragway in the 12-year-old class and Morgan Nappier in the 14-year-old class out of Hendersonville, Tenn. Coleman ran 9.130 seconds to Lee’s 9.212 and Nappier, running for Beech Bend Raceway Park ran 7.951 seconds pass Anthony Heiman, Elkhart, Ind., and Mid-Michigan Motorplex.

The following are final round results for the NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League Eastern Conference Finals presented by

Team Standings
1. Maple Grove Raceway 32
2. Mason-Dixon Dragway 29
3. National Trail Raceway 27
4. Atco Raceway 26
5. Tri-State Dragway/Cecil County Dragway Team tied at 25

Final rounds:

8-9-year old
Gage Esneault, Belle Rose, La. (Huntsville Dragway), 13.498 seconds def. Brooklyn Leblanc, Belle Rose, La. (No Problem Raceway Park), 13.883

Dillan Kyle, Gay, Ga. (Silver Dollar Raceway), 9.095 def. Nicholas Altenbach, Westerville, Ohio (National Trail Raceway), 9.022

Daniel Young, Palm Harbor, Fla. (South Georgia Motorsports Park), 9.555 def. Derek Raymond, South Lyon, Mich. (Mid-Michigan Motorplex), 8.936

Sydney Coleman, Elkton, Md. (Cecil County Dragway), 9.130 def. Madison Lee, Campbell, S.C. (Atlanta Dragway), 9.212

Heather Boyko, North Hampton, Pa. (Maple Grove Raceway), 8.018 def. Alex Nay, Newcomerstown, Ohio (National Trail Raceway), 7.951

Morgan Nappier, Hendersonville, Tenn. (Beech Bend Raceway Park), 7.951 def. Anthony Heiman, Elkhart, Ind. (Mid-Michigan Motorplex), 8.008

Dillon Richards, Lake Charles, La. (Emerald Coast Dragway), 8.106 def. Brittany Boltz, Lancaster, Pa. (Maple Grove Raceway), 7.925

Erin Warner, York Springs, Pa. (Quarter Aces Drag-o-Way), 8.059 def. William Marshall, Penndal, Pa. (Atco Raceway), 7.920