Sunday, September 04, 2011

NHRA Summit Racing Series, Sunday, Final Results from Firebird Raceway, Bosie, Idaho


BOISE, Idaho. – The team from Firebird Raceway racked up 63 points this weekend for the NHRA Northwest Division Summit Racing Series Finals scoring their seventh overall Team Championship and a belated birthday present for Firebird Raceway owner Bill New who put out the challenge to his team at last year's champions banquet.

New turned 77 years old last month and challenged his racers to the triple seven a year ago and they came through with a dominate win bettering Woodburn Dragstrip by nine points (round wins) who took second in the team standings with 54 followed by Portland Int'l Raceway with 51 in third.

Leading the individual champions was Dave Barcelon, Bremerton, Wash., and Bremerton Raceway in Super Pro who out ran Ed Van Der Kooi, Picture Butte, Alberta, CAN., and MHDRA Drag Strip with a lap of 7.88 seconds at 171.29 mph to Van Der Kooi's 7.90, 170.97.

In the Pro class it was Steve Stuart of Estacada, Ore., running for Woodburn Dragstrip in his '66 Chevelle beating Jack Ward of Bremerton Raceway while Stuart's teammate Derrick Jackson, McMinnville, Ore., put his '67 Dodge pickup in the winner's circle running 13.26 seconds at 92.84 mph to knock out the '06 Mustang of Dave Wilson, Vancouver, Wash., also running for Woodburn Dragstrip.

The Motorcycle/Sled trophy went to Renegade Raceway's Bob Henrie, Omak, Wash., on his '01 Polaris posting a time of 9.94 seconds and 128.66 mph winning over William Nitta of Seattle and Pacific Raceways on his '07 Suzuki.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Northwest Division Summit Racing Series Finals at Firebird Raceway:

Super Pro

Dave Barcelon, Bremerton, Wash., Team Bremerton Raceway, dragster, 7.88, 171.29 def. Ed Van Der Kooi, Picture Butte, Alberta, Team MHDRA Drag Strip, dragster, 7.90, 170.97.


Steve Stuart, Estacada, Ore., Team Woodburn Dragstrip, '66 Chevelle, 9.55, 139.64 def. Jack Ward, Bremerton, Wash., Team Bremerton Raceway, '67 Firebird, foul.


Derrick Jackson, McMinnville, Ore., Team Woodburn Dragstrip, '67 Dodge Pickup, 13.26, 92.84 def. Dave Wilson, Vancouver, Wash., Team Woodburn Dragstrip, '06 Mustang, 14.14, 95.95.


Bob Henrie, Omak, Wash., Team Renegade Raceway, '01 Polaris, 9.94, 128.66 def. William Nitta, Seattle, Team Pacific Raceways, '07 Suzuki, 10.00, 134.02.

Team Championship

1. Firebird Raceway 63
2. Woodburn Dragstrip 54
3. Portland Int'l Raceway 51
4. Bremerton Raceway 40
5. Renegade Raceway 30
6. Pacific Raceways 29
7. Madras Dragstrip 28
8. Spokane County Raceway 27
9. Walla Walla Drag Strip 18
10. Champion Raceway 14
11. MHDRA Drag Strip 13
12. Mission Raceway Park 12
13. Lakeview Dragstrip 9
14. Saskatchewan Int'l Raceway 5
15. Lewistown Raceway 4
16. Lost Creek Raceway 3
17. Coos Bay Speedway 3