Monday, July 23, 2012

NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, Final Results from Bandimere Speedway


MORRISON, Colo. – Dan Fletcher scored his 77th NHRA National event win to lead the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series winners this weekend at Bandimere Speedway for the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals.  Fletcher, who has won national events in four different categories, took home the Super Stock trophy as he defeated Tim Nicholson in the final running 11.353 seconds at 107.79 mph.

In the Stock final it was Michael Brand picking up his first ever national event win when Stephen Hagberg left early with a red-light foul start giving the win to Brand and his Pontiac, Firebird.

Three more first time winners were crowned this weekend led by A.J. Percival in Super Comp who knocked out former Top Alcohol Dragster driver Cody Perkins in a double breakout.  Perkins left first but ran too fast at 9.483 seconds on the 9.50 index.

Ken Harkema and Joey Horan rounded out the winners as Harkema won in Super Gas over Michael Phillips running 10.511 at 133 mph in his ’27 Ford while Horan used a starting line advantage to earn his first NHRA Wally trophy beating Bob Myers in Super Street.

The following are the final results from the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals at Bandimere Speedway:

Super Stock -- Dan Fletcher, Chevy Camaro, 11.353, 107.79  def. Tim Nicholson, Chevy II, 10.867, 108.95.

Stock Eliminator -- Michael Brand, Pontiac Firebird, 11.877, 111.24  def. Stephen Hagberg, Plymouth Savoy, foul.

Super Comp -- A.J. Percival, Dragster, 9.491, 162.35  def. Cody Perkins, Dragster, 9.483, 148.53.

Super Gas -- Ken Harkema, '27-T Ford, 10.511, 133.43  def. Michael Phillips, Chevy Beretta, foul.

Super Street -- Joey Horan, Chevy Camaro, 11.586, 107.90  def. Bob Myers, Chevy Chevelle, 11.572, 125.79.