Monday, August 19, 2013


(08-19-2013) Crofton, MD – After two unfortunate incidents and a persistent light drizzle and approaching curfew, the Northeast Outlaw Pro Mod Association Management decided to call the event and the teams in the finals decided to split the purse.
NEOPMA and the track Management at "The New Capitol Raceway" and there staff did a good job keeping everything running smooth. This time around the weather was good, unlike the last NEOPMA event at Capitol where the weather was in the upper 90's.
Fred Scriba qualified number one as he has done at most of the NEOPMA events this year with a 6.032 @ 235.64. Rounding out the 16 car field was Steve Assenmacher. 25 teams that made the trip to compete for 16 spots in the NEOPMA quarter mile Pro Mod series. Year to date 50 individual teams have competed at a NEOPMA event.
"Capitol Raceway is such a great track to race," said John Mazzorana. "The improvements to the track and facilities were outstanding. Their hospitality was 2nd to none. Track conditions were tricky and the staff tried addressing it throughout the event."

Due to the
light drizzle and approaching curfew, the event was called and finalist TJ Dehaven and Dean Marinis split the win and purse.
The NEOPMA Pro Mod Series continues with the Pro Mod Wars event, September 7th and 8th at Maple Grove Dragway, Mohnton Pa.
Final round-by-round results from the NEOPMA Pro Mod Warriors Series following the Door Wars at Capitol Raceway.

ROUND ONE – Fred Scriba, Corvette, 6.066, 236.17 def. Steve Assenmacher, Escort, 10.22, 75.49, Gary Courtier, Chevy Camaro, 6.190, 238.15 def. Jeff Rogers, Mustang, 6.389 227.69, Dean Marinis, Camaro, 6.561, 204.11 def. Jim Barker, Camaro, 6.669 208.62, Jim Bersani, Belair, 14.183, 93.99 def. Paul Watkins. Camaro, Broke, Jeff Miller, Belair, 8.610, 101.62 def. Robert Tyree, Camaro, Broke, TJ Dehaven, Corvette, 6.713, 182.80 def. C. Redd, Camaro, 7.170, 189.92, Gary Walker, Firebird, 6.102, 239.53 def. Jim Bell, Mustang, 6.732, 200.41, Steve Drummond, Mustang, 6.292, 232.19 def. Angela Ray, Mustang, 6.428, 223.91.
QUARTERFINALS - Scriba, 6.031, 238.51 def. Courtier, 6.436, 218.77, Marinis, 6.791, 182.75 def. Bersani, 11.263, 87.55, Dehaven, 6.247, 226.96 def. Miller, Foul, Walker, 6.082, 235.57 def. Drummond, 6.322, 227.50.
SEMIFINALS – Marinis, 14.605, 106.92 def. Scriba, 18.575, 42.60, Dehaven, 7.214, 143.05 def. Walker, 7.968, 87.53.

FINAL – Marinis vs. Dehaven, not run due to weather conditions.
Point standings (top 10) for NEOPMA Pro Mod Warriors Series following the Door Wars at Capitol Raceway.

1. Fredy Scriba 2383, 2. Gary Courtier 2038, 3. Steve Kramer 1535, 4. Jeff Miller 1535            5. Angela Ray 1395, 6. Dwayne Wolfe 1085, 7. Jeff Rogers 889, 8. Dean Marinis 816,    9. Steve Drummond 804, 10. Dave Hance 702
For more info on the Northeast Outlaw Pro Mod Association visit