Monday, January 28, 2013


01-28-2013 Levittown, NY – The 2012 series champions were crowned Saturday Night at the annual "Night of Champions" gala evening for the Northeast Outlaw Pro Mod Association.

The event honored the top five in each Pro Modified class, along with this year's presentation of the Life Time Achievement Award and other awards at Domenico's Restaurant and Conference Center in Levittown, NY.

It was a year to remember for the Blower/Turbo Class Champion, Steve Drummond. Steve ran the tables and won every event in 2012, which is an incredible feat.

"This is definitely an incredible honor", said Steve Drummond, who is from Delaware and drives the twin turbo powered 2008 Ford Mustang Pro Modified owned by Mike Bradford. "It was an unbelievable year for us, and it was a very competitive field. I want to thank not only my wife Kathy for her support, but also all my team members that helped made this happen." 

Rounding out the top five in blower/turbo points - Tim, O'Hare, Gerry Capano, Jim Bersani and Dwayne Wolfe.

In the Nitrous Class, Fred Scriba wins his 2nd Championship in the past 3 years.

"It's unbelievable how the Fulton Powered 63' Sorcerer Corvette has performed over the past 3 years, winning us two championships" said car owner Fredy Scriba. "The competition is tough in this series, so you always have to bring you're A' game. Special thanks to my wife and my teams' strong efforts throughout the year". Rounding out the top five in nitrous points - Marinas/Pappas, Isaias Rojas, Matt Deitsch and Gary Courtier.     

The first annual Special Life Time Achievements award was presented to Hall of Famer Bernie Schacker for his pioneering the rear engine dragster and his dedication to the sport of drag racing. 

The trophy was design and built by Montana Bros. of Long Island, NY.


Rookie of the Year Award ~ Angela Ray
Quickest Nitrous Car ~ Gary Courtier
Quickest Blower Car ~ Kevin McCurdy
Club Racing Achievement Award ~ Fred Scriba
Lifetime Achievement Award ~ Bernie Schacker
Club Sponsors Awards ~ James Barker
Club Sponsors Awards ~ Gerry Capano
Club Sponsors Awards ~ Tim O'Hare
Club Sponsors Awards ~ Fred Scriba

In other banquet news, Association President John Mazzorana announced the new rules, moving to a single 16 car field with all power adders, and the new point's payout proposal for 2013 that would pay the top 8, with $10,000.00 going to the point's champion. All the above mentioned info can be found on

The NEOPMA will begin its Twenty First season in 2013, offering fans a complete and exciting package of quarter mile Pro Mod drag racing action. The first event for the series will be April 19th- 20th at Maryland International Raceway's "Door Warz" in Mechanicsville, MD.

NEOPMA Associate Sponsors: American Racing Headers, Goodyear Racing Tires, Moroso Performance Products, Jesel Valve Train Performance Parts, Star Transporters/Renegade, VP Racing Fuel, Dixon Automotive, Barker Racing,, Tim O'Hare, Custom Builders, Scriba Welding, Star Cab Co.

Based in
Huntington, NY, the Northeast Outlaw Pro Mod Association is one of the nation's premier events for quarter-mile Pro Mod Drag Racing. The 2013 NEOPMA Tour consists of 11 events run throughout the Northeast. For more information on the NEOPMA series, visit